22 S. 2 AUFENTHG / after 3 years

zuh • 13 April 2024
3 comments
0 likes

Hello TiG team. 
many afghans who were evacuated during 2021 will soon have their 3 year permit status expire by end of 2024. So is my case. 
also, I have been working full time since jan 2023 and have not received any benefits from job center as of August 2022. My question is. 
1) . does the three year Résidence requirement with C1 level language certificate qualifies me for naturalization? 
2. if not. What’s the next step for afghans with 22 S. 2 AUFENTHG status ? Should they apply for permanent residency or they will be have another 3 years of residence permit issued. Thank you and appreciate if there is any clear guidance on this matter. 

Answers (3)

Moderation

Hello zuh , thank you for reaching out to us. Your C1 Certificate is impressive! Unfortunately, to become a German citizen, you need to have a permanent residence permit ("Niederlassungserlaubnis") or a residence permit that allows you to get a permanent residence permit. Also, you need to have been living in Germany legally for at least eight years. You can find more information here: https://handbookgermany.de/en/citizenship To your second question, do you mean if you have to apply for an extension of your stay or if it will be automatically extended? I am waiting for your answer. Best Barbara

zuh

Thank you Barbara for the explanation and reply. I appreciate this. My question is that how do I apply for the extension of my residence permit ? Is there a link online or what’s the procedure.
Regarding the 8 year stay in Germany, isn’t this changed under the new legislation to 3-5 years depending on work and language factors. Thanks

Moderation